Stay focus,be consistent and have a spirit of perseverance.

Everyone needs support as much or as little as possible  for sure, but the major work lies within you. If you want to be successful as a woman, you must understand it’s not who you know(who you know that probably don’t know you?).Stop living your life under the shadows of others, rather start building your own social capital.  Most successful women i have met and read about have some common rules they live by,which i have taken with me over the years.

social-capital

Start working on building your social capital

I remembered what my Godfather (Tunji Bamishingbin) told me years back when i used to act, “Tokunbo i don’t want you to become a star over night, it takes me nothing to make you one but i want to raise you gradually because i don’t want you to fall in a rush…” bless him! that helped me a great deal to handle some fast glittering deals that would have me in the film industry, as we used to call it then.

What's+your+social+capital-

Being Beautiful isn’t about having the lightest skin and longest weave. It’s about what happens when you close your legs and open your brains!.

All that glitters they say is not gold. Being Beautiful isn’t about having the lightest skin and longest weave. It’s about what happens when you close your legs and open your brains!. I don’t take short cut because i don’t want to be cut short, i do what i do daily seeking God’s grace and favour only. Just like Otunba Bola Kuforiji-Olubi said, It’s important to leave a legacy of excellence. During one of her interview with vangaurd she talked about traits that have helped her achieved success as a woman.

“Traits that have helped me are diligence, hardwork, being true to myself, holding-on to my dreams, never letting myself be discouraged, and trusting in God. These traits are very important and necessary for any man or woman who wants to get on in life. You don’t let anybody derail your boat! Stay focused, and if you know you’re going on a wrong path, try as much as possible to make sure you’re back on course. Listen to advice from elders because nobody knows it all.Over the years, I have suffered some gender discriminations. I have been told to my face by some organisations that they have no room for any woman! But I never allowed myself to be discouraged! I have been boss to a number of men who tell me: “I have a woman like you at home!”, but I let them know that I am not the woman in their houses! I do my best to show that I have the intelligence and the intellect to hold on to my position. That’s why I always advise people to be sure they merit whatever position they are given”.

What more is there to say, many women these days have fallen into worldly deception by allowing worldly values and placing importance on riches, careers and status ignoring integrity and God’s standards of living . Don’t get me wrong, Success is good and it’s what i represent but what happened to the virtuous woman who would do variety of things?, Please stay focus, be consistent and have a spirit of perseverance, it may take time, but time that will be worth a great success in the end.

Businesswoman

It may take time, but time that will be worth a great success in the end.

Compiled by Tokunbo Adebesin(Publisher/Founder Tkbesh! Int’l Magazine)

Photos: Google Images.

Copyright © Tkbesh!, 2013. All Right Reserved. 

Leave a Reply

